Texas Regional Collaboratives for Excellence in Science and Mathematics Teaching



HONORING THE TEACHERS

Rice University Regional Collaborative

Houston, Texas

May 16, 2007





Event support was provided by

Shell Oil Company and El Paso Corporation

Regional Collaborative Statewide Corporate Partners

HONORING THE TEACHERS

PROGRAM

WELCOME

Wallace Dominey, Ph.D.

Project Director, Rice University Regional Collaborative

GREETINGS

Siva Kumari, Ph.D.

Advisor to the Provost on K12 Initiatives

Eugene Levy, Ph.D.

Provost, Rice University

Manuel Rodriguez, Jr.

President, Houston ISD Board

Abelardo Saavedra, Ph.D.

Superintendent, Houston ISD

Josephine Hamilton

Associate Director, Teacher Quality Grants Program for Higher Education

Kamil A. Jbeily, Ph.D.

Executive Director, Texas Regional Collaboratives

KEYNOTE SPEAKER

The Honorable Bill White

Mayor of the City of Houston

RECOGNITION CEREMONY

Voices of the Interns
Presentation of Certificates of Achievement

SPEAKERS



The Honorable Bill White Mayor of the City of Houston



Eugene Levy, Ph.D.

Provost

Rice University



Manuel Rodriguez, Jr.

President

Houston ISD Board



Siva Kumari, Ph.D.

Advisor to the Provost on
K-12 Initiatives, Rice University



Wallace Dominey, Ph.D.

Project Director

Rice University Regional

Collaborative



Josephine Hamilton
Associate Director
Teacher Quality Grants Program
for Higher Education



Karen SoehngeChief Academic Officer
Houston ISD



Kamil A. Jbeily, Ph.D.

Executive Director
Texas Regional Collaboratives

VOICES OF THE INTERNS



Susan Cave
RICE/HISD Elementary
Science Lab Intern



Duranne Walker RICE/HISD Elementary Science Lab Intern



Maudie Jordan RICE/HISD Elementary Science Lab Intern



Nikki Skinner RICE/HISD Elementary Science Lab Intern



James Madison High School Color Guard



Armando Benavides RICE/HISD Elementary Science Lab Intern

2006-2007 INTERNS HONORED

Patricia E. Abiro Patricia M. Garrett Cynthia Oubre Victoria Palomar Usha Gavvala Guadalupe Aguirre Octavia Archie Ophelia Gibbs Maria Picon Rocio Arroyo Matilda Gilbert Mariya Priymak Kiamesha Bagley Michael Godoy Raphael Randal Nichelle Beard Hilda Gonzalez Margaret Randall Armando Benavides Elaine Gordon Deirdre Ricketts Joe D. Callens Efrain Guerrero Norma Sandoval Susan Cave Jose Guillen Moises Sandoval Joy Cole Anjanetta Irving Elena Saner-Greer Leatrice Santee Rodney Conner Jerrilean Johnson Maudie Jordan James Schlebus Mary Connor Novella Cooper Andrew Kapral Nikki Skinner Christina Cortez **Deborah Lancaster** Maria F. Sorensen

Maria-Christina Cruz Juana Larralde Sandra St. Clair

Martha Dahl Cecily Lawson-Stevens Phyllis Stevens-Fleming
Kesha Dailey-Massey Gloria B. Leonard Eleanore Tashenberg

Dianna L. Davis Rachel Luna Sue Tate

Shane DeHorney James Markle Jessica D. Taylor
Waltrine Delafosse Francisco A. Martinez Laura Teatsworth
Sherri Drew Rosanna McFerrin Scherie Townes
Gloria Drury Ruby McKinney Hugo Urquiola

Markeisha Ellis Miguel Montero Gwendolyn Vanderbilt

Michael Elwood Erma Moore Miriam Vasquez Marvin Enzor Duranne Walker Ibiteyin N. Myers Paul Needham Charlotte West Flor Esparza Rosalinda Evora Betty J. Williams Van Nguyen Catherine Filipovich Robin E. Nuber Matthew Williams Angela Galindo Angelita Olivarez Regina K. Williams

Ruth Garcia Alejandra Ortiz Jesus Zepeda

EVENT EXHIBITS









Texas Regional Collaboratives for Excellence in Science and Mathematics Teaching

Center for Science and Mathematics Education, College of Education
The University of Texas at Austin

Physical Address: 1912 Speedway / Sánchez Building, Suite 340

Mailing Address: 1 University Station D5500

Austin, Texas 78712-0377

www.thetrc.org

Tel: 512-471-9460 Fax: 512-471-9244